India aim to achieve the same with a population of 130 crores and in cities like Kolkata with the population density of 24000 persons per sq.km. Will any mathematician calculate out the space required for maintaining 6 ft distance in between. Even the sky won't be able to accommodate.

But let us now look to the future. Perhaps we may die; new human civilization will again come up among the persons who may survive the onslaught of this corona attack. Even if the toll may be more than 50% of 700 billion persons, but still there is hope.

New society would come up with the remaining. That society may be different but would still exist. This would go on till the Sun becomes cold spending out all its energy and that would be in astronomical scale.

Resurrection is the rule, something end, but future generation appears and again I hope the world show will go on.

Dr. Samir GhoshFounder Member, ISEC
(A friend of Late Professor Murali M Biswas)

Gautam Kumar Das

Tropical Cyclone Naming - New List (2020)

People have a great curiosity about naming of Amphan on that very day when the Super Cyclone Amphan devastated West Bengal and Bangladesh. They asked whether the name of cyclones is a social customs that differ from one country to another or it is simply customary to a country. In reply to their queries, after wandering in quest of truth, it is to be stated that the Super Cyclone Amphan is the last name from the original naming list published in 2004. The World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and the UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and Pacific (ESCAP) in their 27th session held in 2000, approved to assign names to the tropical cyclones in the Bay of Bengal and the Arabian Sea. The practice of naming tropical cyclones helps in quick identification of storms in alarming both the administrations and the people of the affected areas because names are supposed to be easier to remember than any technical terms or numbers. Tropical cyclones are named by the India Meteorological Department (IMD) within North Indian Ocean between 45°E and 100°E when they are judged to have intensified into cyclonic storms with 3-minutes sustained wind speeds of at least 34 knots (63 km/h). Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Myanmar, Oman, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Thailand are the part of panel for naming in 2000, later in 2018, Iran, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the UAE

and Yemen are added to the list for naming of the tropical cyclones. In 20 May, 2020, the naming of cyclone Amphan exhausted the original list of names established in 2004. A fresh list of names has been prepared and will be used in alphabetical order for cyclonic storms after Amphan. Nisarga is the first name from the new naming list published in 2020. The current list has a total of 169 names including 13 names each from 13 WMO/ESCAP member countries. The proposed names should be neutral to politics and political figures, religious believes, culture, gender, sentiments of any group of population over globe, rude or cruel in nature and it should be short and easy for pronunciation. Nisarga, brewing from the Arabian Sea and devastated Maharashtra on 3rd June, means nature is termed by Bangladesh in the new list of naming cyclones. The name is accorded in a list formulated by a group of countries. After blowing of the Super Cyclone Amphan on 20 May, 2020, Nisarga is picked up for the cyclonic storm. For the ground level work of naming cyclones, in the recent year, Dr. Mrityunjay Mahapatra, Director General of India Meteorological Department (IMD) acts as a Rapporteur to coordinate among the panel member countries and to finalize the list of names following standard procedures and suggest the implementation plan. The report of the Rapporteur was initially presented by India

during 46th session of World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and the UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and Pacific (ESCAP) held in Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar during September, 2019. After thorough discussions, the report is finally adopted by World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and the UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and Pacific (ESCAP) with consensus in April, 2020 and the names are to be taken from this newly approved list for the cyclones formed in the Bay of Bengal and the Arabian Sea that normally experienced five cyclones annually one over Arabian Sea and another four over Bay of Bengal - Director General India Meteorological Department (IMD) explained in a press conference. Considering the seasonal frequency, cyclones in the Bay of Bengal and Arabian Sea has got a bimodal characteristic for genesis with primary maxima of frequency of cyclones during April - June and secondary maxima during October - December. Out of five cyclones, one develops during pre-monsoon season and four during post-monsoon season. Any way, naming of cyclones is very much significant for recapitulation the history of a particular cyclone. For an example, Amphan, the name of the maiden Super Cyclone of the century in the Bay of Bengal reminds us a series of records like its becoming a Super Cyclone (235 km/h) from a cyclone (85 km/h) within only 30 hours of duration, its very fast movement prior to landfall at the rate of 20-30 km/h and its large scale system with a size of about 700 km diameter that ravaged coastal Odisha and the southern parts of West Bengal and Bangladesh.

List of Northern Indian Ocean tropical cyclone names (effective from 2020)

	Contributing nation												
List	Bangladesh	India	Iran	Maldives	Myanmar	Oman	Pakistan	Qatar	Saudi Arabia	Sri Lanka	Thailand	U.A.E.	Yemen
1	Nisarga	Gati	Nivar	Burevi	Tauktae	Yaas	Gulab	Shaheen	Jawad	Asani	Sitrang	Mandous	Mocha
2	Biparjoy	Tej	Hamoon	Midhili	Michaung	Remal	Asna	Dana	Fengal	Shakhti	Montha	Senyar	Ditwah
3	Arnab	Murasu	Akvan	Kaani	Ngamann	Sail	Sahab	Lulu	Ghazeer	Gigum	Thianyot	Afoor	Diksam
4	Upakul	Aag	Sepand	Odi	Kyarthit	Naseem	Afshan	Mouj	Asif	Gagana	Bulan	Nahhaam	Sira
5	Barshon	Vyom	Booran	Kenau	Sapakyee	Muzn	Manahil	Suhail	Sidrah	Verambha	Phutala	Quffal	Bakhur
6	Rajani	Jhar	Anahita	Endheri	Wetwun	Sadeem	Shujana	Sadaf	Hareed	Garjana	Aiyara	Daaman	Ghwyzi
7	Nishith	Probaho	Azar	Riyau	Mwaihout	Dima	Parwaz	Reem	Faid	Neeba	Saming	Deem	Hawf
8	Urmi	Neer	Pooyan	Guruva	Kywe	Manjour	Zannata	Rayhan	Kaseer	Ninnada	Kraison	Gargoor	Balhaf
9	Meghala	Prabhanjan	Arsham	Kurangi	Pinku	Rukam	Sarsar	Anbar	Nakheel	Viduli	Matcha	Khubb	Brom
10	Samiron	Ghurni	Hengame	Kuredhi	Yinkaung	Watad	Badban	Oud	Haboob	Ogha	Mahingsa	Degl	Shuqra
11	Pratikul	Ambud	Savas	Horangu	Linyone	Al-jarz	Sarrab	Bahar	Bareq	Salitha	Phraewa	Athmad	Fartak
12	Sarobor	Jaladhi	Tahamtan	Thundi	Kyeekan	Rabab	Gulnar	Seef	Alreem	Rivi	Asuri	Boom	Darsah
13	Mahanisha	Vega	Toofan	Faana	Bautphat	Raad	Waseq	Fanar	Wabil	Rudu	Thara	Saffar	Samhah